Spenser for Hire

Original Sin
Spenser TV Episode List

In the real world, Original Sin refers to the sin Adam and Eve committed by eating the fruit from the tree of knowledge. They saw the reality of the world around them and suffered as a result.

Here, Spenser is hired by a priest to look into the suicide death of a young woman about to become a nun. Her family doesn't want Spenser stirring things up, but he persists. He finds that a crook is donating money to the church, and that the girl was striving to help people who were being evicted from their homes. Then he finds out the girl was pregnant.

Spenser first suspects the priest of having corrupted the girl, but after a boxing match he decides the priest is a good guy. He then suspects one of the girl's co-workers, and that guy is promptly killed. In a sign of how Hawk is becoming fond of Spenser, Hawk just "shows up" to shoot a guy that is about to kill Spenser.

It turns out the crook is working with someone at the church. They are evicting the poor so they can build something new on the land. So that all gets wrapped up, but it still doesn't explain how the girl died.

Finally we learn that the mom had gone to talk with the girl, and was yelling at her. The girl backed up and fell accidentally to her death. So it was an accident after all.

This is the first time Hawk really backs Spenser up fully as a matter of course. There are interesting scenes of the Boston Marathon worked into this.

Spenser for Hire TV Series episode listing
Spenser for Hire Main Page

The Spenser for Hire Books
The Godwulf Manuscript, 73
God Save the Child, 74
Mortal Stakes, 75
Promised Land, 76
The Judas Goat, 78
Looking for Rachel Wallace, 80
Early Autumn, 81
A Savage Place, 81
Ceremony, 82
The Widening Gyre, 83
Valediction, 84
A Catskill Eagle, 85
Taming a Sea Horse, 86
Pale Kings and Princes, 87
Crimson Joy, 88
Playmates, 89
Stardust, 90
Pasttimes, 91
Double Deuce, 92
Paper Doll, 93
Walking Shadow, 94
Thin Air, 95
Chance, 96
Small Vices, 97
Sudden Mischief, 98
Hush Money, 99
Hugger Mugger, 00
Potshot, 01
Widows Walk, 02
Back Story, 03
Cold Service, 04
School Days, 05
Hundred-Dollar Baby, 06
Now and Then, 07

The Jesse Stone Series
About Paradise, Mass
Night Passage, 00
Trouble in Paradise, 02
Death in Paradise, 03
Stone Cold, 04
Sea Change, 06
High Profile, 07
Night and Day, 09

The Sunny Randall Series
Family Honor, 99
Perish Twice, 00
Shrink Wrap, 02
Melancholy Baby, 04
Blue Screen, 05
Spare Change, 07

TV Series
Season List 85-88
Susan Silverman

Movies - Spenser
Ceremony, 93
Pale King and Princes, 93
The Judas Goat, 94
A Savage Place, 95
Small Vices, 99
Thin Air, 00
Walking Shadow, 01

Movies - Jesse Stone
Jesse Stone - Movie Locations
Stone Cold, 05
Night Passage, 06
Death in Paradise, 06
Sea Change, 07
Thin Ice, 09
No Remorse, 10
Lost In Paradise, 15

Main Spenser Homepage