Spenser for Hire

Internal Affairs
Spenser TV Episode List

This episode starts with a Beverly Hills Cop style reference (It came out about a year beforehand) complete with matching music. A pair of people smash through a store window and out into the street. It's Spenser, guarding a jewelry store. Apparently it didn't go very well. But soon we realize that there are bigger issues afoot. Quirk is in trouble, and he won't get himself out. Something is up.

It turns out there's a high-powered guy with a low-life son. And Quirk's wife has had an affair. It might seem quaint in modern times, but Quirk is willing to do anything at all to keep this affair hidden. Including allowing bad guys to get away with all sorts of stuff.

Spenser and Hawk are on the job to help out. They figure out what is going on, get Quirk to talk with his wife, and put the pressure on the high-powered guy. That guy decides he'd rather kill his son than risk his millions. Unfortunately for him, his son kills him instead.

Belson gets shot, Hawk shoots a bad guy (ending his previous plot-induced missing streak) and Spenser and Susan talk about honor.

A nice episode to focus on Quirk, but a fairly light one for me.

Spenser for Hire TV Series episode listing
Spenser for Hire Main Page

The Spenser for Hire Books
The Godwulf Manuscript, 73
God Save the Child, 74
Mortal Stakes, 75
Promised Land, 76
The Judas Goat, 78
Looking for Rachel Wallace, 80
Early Autumn, 81
A Savage Place, 81
Ceremony, 82
The Widening Gyre, 83
Valediction, 84
A Catskill Eagle, 85
Taming a Sea Horse, 86
Pale Kings and Princes, 87
Crimson Joy, 88
Playmates, 89
Stardust, 90
Pasttimes, 91
Double Deuce, 92
Paper Doll, 93
Walking Shadow, 94
Thin Air, 95
Chance, 96
Small Vices, 97
Sudden Mischief, 98
Hush Money, 99
Hugger Mugger, 00
Potshot, 01
Widows Walk, 02
Back Story, 03
Cold Service, 04
School Days, 05
Hundred-Dollar Baby, 06
Now and Then, 07

The Jesse Stone Series
About Paradise, Mass
Night Passage, 00
Trouble in Paradise, 02
Death in Paradise, 03
Stone Cold, 04
Sea Change, 06
High Profile, 07
Night and Day, 09

The Sunny Randall Series
Family Honor, 99
Perish Twice, 00
Shrink Wrap, 02
Melancholy Baby, 04
Blue Screen, 05
Spare Change, 07

TV Series
Season List 85-88
Susan Silverman

Movies - Spenser
Ceremony, 93
Pale King and Princes, 93
The Judas Goat, 94
A Savage Place, 95
Small Vices, 99
Thin Air, 00
Walking Shadow, 01

Movies - Jesse Stone
Jesse Stone - Movie Locations
Stone Cold, 05
Night Passage, 06
Death in Paradise, 06
Sea Change, 07
Thin Ice, 09
No Remorse, 10
Lost In Paradise, 15

Main Spenser Homepage